I might be a little weird

I am loving having a week off of responsibilities! And I am loving this weather! Yesterday I went for a nice run at Thunderbird Park. Almost four miles of hills and I think I got a good workout. It doesn’t hurt that there is a nice view along the way.

I had to run some errands and I was hungry so I picked up my favorite snack at Trader Joe’s. Real bananas, so good!

For dinner last night I went back to my new BFF Rachael Ray. This recipe is perfect for me because I HATE potatoes.  I know, I’m a freak of nature. I can eat most french fries and chips are fine, but you will never see mashed potatoes or baked potatoes on my plate. It’s really hard to  believe I’m from the midwest. While we are on the subject…Things I Hate: pork (bacon is only to be eaten in the morning after a long night out), ricotta cheese, cottage cheese, cheesecake, coconut (except pina coladas:) ), lasagna, and I don’t eat onions either (I always chop them really big so I can pick them out). Whew! I feel better getting that all off my chest. Please continue reading, I’m really not that crazy… or am I?

Deconstructed Tex-Mex Potpies (Of course I had to put my spin on it to make it that much better 😉 Those additions are notated with a *)
  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten with a splash of water
  • 1 T veg oil
  • 3 T butter
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 small red pepper, chopped
  • 2 small ribs of celery, chopped
  • 1 bulb fennel, chopped*
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • jalapeno chili, seeded and chopped
  • 1 can of green chilis*
  • 2 T chopped cilantro*
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1 tsp Cayenne pepper*
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 T flour
  • 2 cups chicken stock (I used broth)*
  • 3 cups rotisserie chicken (I cooked my own chicken because I’m still steering clear of it because of our last experience! I seasoned it with some paprika, salt and pepper and cooked it through before adding it to the rest of the filling)
  • Worcestershire sauce and hot sauce to taste

1. Preheat oven to 425*. Roll out the dough and cut out four circles using the ramekins you will be serving in as stencils.  2. Arrange the rounds on a baking sheet and brush with the egg wash (it says to line the sheet with parchment paper, I forgot and they were still fine). Bake until golden, 15 minutes.  3. Meanwhile, in a deep pan heat oil over medium-high heat; add butter to melt. Stir in all the vegetables and season with the cumin, cilantro, coriander, cayenne, salt and pepper.  Partially cover and cook until softened, 5 minutes. Stir in the chilis 4. Stir in the flour for 1 minutes (no lumps!) and then the chicken broth until thickened.  Stir in the chicken and heat through.  Lower the heat and season with worcestershire and hot sauce. (careful, a little worcestershire goes a long way!).  Spoon the filling into the ramekins and top with a pastry round.

This was a nice and filling meal after our long day.  My brother-in-law has moved back to Phoenix and is crashing with us until he gets everything in order.  So, yesterday we also cleaned out the garage and made a huge donation to Goodwill.  It’s starting to look like a bike shop out there:) I still have 12 more days of freedom! What will I get myself into next?

 

 

1 thought on “I might be a little weird

  1. Pingback: When in the Hunger Games eat pulled BBQ beef | operationmeltdown

Leave a comment