Working Up An Appetite For Panuchos

So I got a new workout from my “personal trainer” (Chad) this week.  Yet another gem.  Let me share my last two days with you:

Monday

  • 3 mile Tempo Run.  I ran on the Arizona Canal last night after work.  I think I run faster when I’m trying to make it back to my car before the sun goes down 😉 In honor of the Boston marathon yesterday I ran 26.2 miles (just minus 23.2 miles).

Tuesday

  • 10 min on stepmill
  • Legs: 3×16 Alternating Jumping Lunges
  • 5×8 Squats (heavy weight!)
  • 4×8 Single Leg Ext
  • 3×15 Ball leg curls
  • 3×10 standing calf raises
  • Shoulders superset: 3×10 shoulder press, then lateral raises
  • Abs circuit: leg raises 3×15
  • WoodChop 3×12 each
  • Bicycles 3×20

Whew!  Just wait for the next few days.  I’m already tired looking at it! I have had a healthy little appetite lately due to the more intense workouts.  The other night I had a wild streak and decided to try this new recipe I found in Sunset Magazine for homemade tortillas stuffed with black beans, Panuchos.  My version came out more like tostadas. Even though I didn’t get it 100% correct, we all still enjoyed it.  This is what I ended up doing:

Tasty Tostadas

  • 1 lb chicken breasts
  • Your favorite marinade (We used a pouch of a chipotle flavored marinade, yum)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 T of vegetable oil
  • 2 1/3 cups of masa
  • 1 1/3 cup of chicken broth
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • TOPPINGS:
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Roma tomatoes chopped
  • Avocado
  • Salsa
  • Diaya “Cheese” or if you’re lucky real cheese 😉

Chicken: Marinade the chicken.  Heat grill to medium. Grill chicken until cooked through turning once, usually 10-15 minutes.  Let chicken cool and then cut into bite sized pieces. Filling: In a food processor blend the beans along with their liquid until smooth.  The original recipe called for cooked onion in it too, but you know how I feel about those. Add them if you want.  Tortillas: Combine the masa and the chicken broth to make dough. Divide into 14-16 equal balls, set on a baking sheet, and cover with plastic wrap.  Heat a skillet or griddle over medium heat.  One at a time, flatten out a masa ball into a tortilla shape. A freezer bag cut in half works well to press them out, using a little flour if it gets sticky. Peel the tortilla from the plastic and put on the skillet. Flipping once, about 1 minute on each side. Transfer to a plate and continue with the rest of the dough.  This is where you are supposed to slit the tortilla and stuff with beans. Didn’t work for me so I just put some beans in between two tortillas and cooked a little longer on the skillet.  Put it all together: Top each tortilla “sandwich” with some chicken, lettuce, tomatoes, avocado, cheese and salsa. 

Leave a comment